Donuts!

After three days of searching for a good donut recipe, getting frustrated and giving up every few hours, Jessie finally found me a good one. One might even say, a perfect one.

This recipe produces light, fluffy donuts, that are simply delicious to stick in your mouth.


INGREDIENTS

2 & 1/4 teaspoons yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 cups flour
1 & 1/4 cups water
1/4 cup oil

INSTRUCTIONS

I use a bread maker for all my doughs; it means I don’t have to knead the dough, but more importantly the bread maker is an expert at making dough rise. Either chuck all the ingredients in the bread maker and tell it to make you dough (I always leave dough in the bread maker for a half hour once it’s done, so it rises even more), or combine the ingredients in a bowl, knead for about 10 minutes, and leave in a warm place to rise for a few hours.

Roll the dough out to 1cm thickness. Using some form of round cutting shape (I use an upturned glass) cut the dough into circles, then using a smaller cutting shape (I use the lid of our vanilla essence) cut the middle out of each circle. You should be able to knead the remaining dough into a ball, and repeat this until you have lots of donuts and no dough left. Leave to rise for another 10 minutes or so.

Half full a pan with oil, and heat to 190ºC  (or use a deep fryer). If you’re like me and don’t have a thermometer that goes that high, you may have to play around with the temperature and practice on a few donuts to find the right heat. If the donuts brown on the outside without cooking the way through, then you need to turn it down a bit. Add a few donuts to the pan (as many as the pan will comfortably hold), and fry until the bottom is brown, then turn over and fry until the other side is brown also. Remove from the pan and shake any remaining oil off.

TOPPINGS

Sugar and Cinnamon – Mix 1 cup of sugar (less for lower sugar) with 1 tablespoon cinnamon in a bowl or bag. While the donuts are still warm, put them in the mix and shake until coated.

Chocolate – Melt equal parts vegan chocolate and the thick part of coconut cream from the tin. Once the donuts have cooled, dip in the chocolate mix. Leave to cool, and then dip again.

Nuts or coconut – Using shredded coconut, or crushed nuts. Dip the donuts in the above chocolate mix, then while it’s still wet, dip into the coconut or nuts.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I absolutely love your blog! I thought I would reach out to you because I am actually looking for recipe contributors for my upcoming vegan cookzine Hungry Monkey which benefits rescued laboratory monkeys.

    This new issue will be “The Vegan Doughnut Issue” with tons of recipes contributed by bloggers. All money made goes directly to 8 rescued laboratory monkeys who live in Oklahoma now. I was wondering if you would be able to contribute your recipe for donuts in my cookzine? I would most definitely give you credit, in fact, there would be a little blurb at the top of the page that promotes your blog Tahini Sauce.

    I hope you decide to contribute a recipe to make this zine a success! I look forward to hearing back from you.
    You can email me at sanctuaryfunds@gmail.com
    Xoxo
    Adriana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

