Chocolate Self-saucing Pudding

When I was a teenager I would go to my cousin’s place each weekend for a girl’s night and we’d make pudding. We’d eat pudding instead of dinner then wake up and eat delicious pudding again for breakfast. These isn’t healthy or low in sugar and as such is categorised under Evil Food – Look away! But I must share it, for I’d be remiss if I didn’t give this to the world.

Actually, I have more such recipes. Do you want me to share my unhealthy recipes as well as healthy stuff? Let me know in the comments.

This is my version of the Edmond’s Cookbook pudding, and one of those things I’ve simply done without for the last seven years since becoming vegan.

When you bake it, it will look black. It’s not burned. That’s the deliciousness. To reassure you I’ve put a picture of the baked result so you don’t freak out and toss the lot without realising it was actually baked to perfection. I would serve this up to loved-ones or impress people with this at a party.

It takes me about 5 minutes to get this in the oven.

By the way, the cake recipe is also a generic recipe I often use for ultra-quick cupcakes and cakes. You can just bake it as is, it’s quick, cheap and easy.


INGREDIENTS

Cake

1 & 1/2 cups flour
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup water

Sauce

1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon cornflour
1/4 cup cocoa
2 cups boiling water (yes, you do want that much) 

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

Prepare cake batter first. Mix dry cake ingredients. Add in wet cake ingredients. Stir until smooth. Oil a deep dish and pour the cake batter in.

Then in a separate bowl mix the dry sauce ingredients and sprinkle this evenly over the cake batter. Using the back of a spoon gently drizzle the 2 cups of boiling water over the sauce mix. It will look weird and watery. Bake for 30 to 45 minutes.

Check regularly and push a knife in to see if it’s done. It will be sticky, it’s pudding, but you should be able to taste it and tell the difference between uncooked and cooked cake batter. It should look black and has a somewhat “burned” appearance, though it’s not. The ideal texture should be like chunks of cake with pockets of sauce randomly distributed through. It’s spectacular. Serve steaming and hot with vanilla soy icecream.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Vanessa

     /  April 20, 2012

    Unequivocally yes, please share your tasty (evil) recipes xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

