Reflux

I’m going to go out on a limb here and share a home-made health theory.

It’s important.

You only get one oesophagus. If it gets too damaged it can be life-threatening.

I’ve been tormented by reflux for 10 years. Once I was even hospitalised with gastritis.

Now that I’m pregnant the reflux is on hyperdrive. I sleep sitting up (completely), and sometimes I just throw up all day. My stomach is not my friend. Sometimes my lips bleed because the acid has burned them so badly. Often I cannot eat. My throat is in agony. The two medications prescribed are insufficient.

My doctor says “It is what it is, I’m afraid.” My midwife and friends all say the same.

But I think I have figured it out. I seem to have finally stumbled across the way to entirely prevent it through diet.

So I’m going to share. A raw diet worked really well for me, but still not quite well enough.

I suspect that I cannot digest either amylose or amylopectin. Those are long-chain starches. Perhaps I don’t produce enough (or any) amylase? Perhaps my pancreas is fatigued – whatever – who cares. The point is, those starches are found in the following foods; potatoes, rice, corn, bananas, chickpeas, wheat, (bread and pasta).

I imagine my stomach floods with acid to get rid of the indigestible stuff. Add in some sugar, citric fruits, vinegars, peppermint, ginger, garlic, onion and chili, and more acid is stimulated. Soda is also a trouble-child. Top all that off with some chocolate and my stomach valve relaxes and floods my throat with acid.

So, it’s like a three-part issue.

I suggest you try this if you suffer from severe reflux. Your issue might be different – or it could be the same.

Avoid starchy food, or only eat little amounts.

Instead prefer seeded raw crackers, quinoa, beans, salads, nuts, vegetables and fruits. I still eat tofu and soy products, it seems to be fine. There are plenty of carbohydrates in vegetables. I also avoid those acid stimulators, and chocolate. I adore every food on that list, especially chocolate, so I will indulge occasionally – once a week, perhaps.

This seems to be working. No more sore throats, no need for medication that both helps and hinders the issue, and eating this way has allowed me to sleep on my back for the first time in months.

Please share this with your friends.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I vow to still keep making yum foods!

    You might just find they’re less starchy.

    x

    Reply
  2. It is very different for everyone, because the issue is quite individual.

    Though I’d suspect my “form” is common enough.

    The two things (in my mind) that are irresponsibly recommended by natural health practitioners to aid reflux include lemon and ginger. As for some people these things may help, but for others they are devastating acid promoters.

    Reply
  3. Cathie

     /  June 19, 2012

    Good on you for working out what’s right for you! I have suffered reflux during both my pregnancys (luckily only during pregnancy) and it is crippling! I am still on medication to control it (I’m 40weeks plus 4 today, woo hoo) but diet plays such a big part. I find avacado triggers mine as well. I wish I had read this 30 odd weeks ago lol xxx all the best with your bubs

    Reply
    • Congratulations Cathie I didn’t realise 🙂 exciting times for you right now, I bet you are very excited!

      Reply
  4. Anonymous

     /  June 19, 2012

    i am sad that you are dealing with this! i love how much you love food. keep on truckin’!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

