Quinoa Sushi

I really haven’t used quinoa much.

You know, of course, it’s pronounced ‘keen-wah’ not ‘kwin-noah’.

You also know it’s full of protein and the Aztecs used to munch on this stuff.

It pretentiously proclaims itself to be an ‘Ancient Super Food’, however I was amused at the store the other day when the same company had marketed dried apricots ‘ as ‘Ancient Super Fruit.

In my humble opinion the labels should respectively read, ‘Quinoa’ and ‘Fucking Regular Dried Fucking Apricots’.

Anyway, this turned out to be rather delicious! And it’s far easier to roll than rice-sushi.

I especially recommend it with ginger, soy sauce and wasabi (for those who don’t suffer from reflux).

I am very pleased with this and shall make it routinely.


INGREDIENTS (makes one roll)

1 cup cooked quinoa
2 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar
Nori
Avocado or other vegetables

INSTRUCTIONS

Mix quinoa with vinegar. Press a thin layer of the mixture over most of the nori. Add vegetables. Roll. Serve with pickled ginger, wasabi and soy sauce.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Laurel

     /  June 20, 2012

    Fuck yeah this looks amazing. I’m in.

    Reply
    • Real simple. Top with loads of ginger and you’ll be so happy.

      Reply
      • Laurel

         /  June 20, 2012

        I don’t like ginger but wasabi and soy sauce are my friends. Now to buy some nori and one of those rolling mats!

  2. Anonymous

     /  August 13, 2012

    WAAAA!!!!!! I tried to make it but the rolls fell apart as the quinoa fell out, maybe i didnt roll them tight enough

    Reply
    • Ok, so what I’ve found is when I make fresh quinoa, let it cool and roll, this works great. But if I leave the quinoa overnight and refrigerate it, then roll it, it gets a bit crumbly. Go for tight and use freshly cooked quinoa, it’s still sticky. ❤

      Reply

Leave a Reply

