LSA-Lemon-Berry Cake with Coconut Cream (Low Sugar)

This is so lovely. This is my first layer cake. ♥ Pretty proud of it actually. Plus; low sugar, low oil.

I’m currently experimenting with cakes to see just how low the sugar and oil can go and just how much healthy can be jammed into them without losing the cakey texture and flavour that we love. This cake – for example – is one people will enjoy and not realise there’s less sugar than usual. In the past I’ve made some fruit-sweetened cakes but have not liked the texture and flavour as much.  I believe I could still lower amounts more so stay tuned for later experiments! I am also getting closer to creating vegan sponge…

Note the use of vegan whipped cream and the addition of healthy LSA! This is good celebration food.

Without further ado I give you the next in my series of LSA cakes:

DSC_0214

DSC_0222

If you don’t want to make two layers, ’cause of resources – I don’t like to waste food on experiments when I’m unsure how they’re gonna turn out! – you can just make one layer then fold one half atop the other as shown.

INGREDIENTS FOR ONE LAYER:

1 and 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup ground LSA
1 and 1/4 cups soy  milk
1/3 cup oil
1/3 cup sugar
3 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch salt
1 tablespoon lemon

INSTRUCTIONS:

Blend, bake until springy, then repeat for the second layer.

 

INGREDIENTS FOR LEMON-WHIPPED CREAM (enough for a full layer cake, half the amounts for a half layer-cake like the one I made):

4 teaspoons lemon (to taste)
4 teaspoons apricot jam (to taste)
whipped with 2 tin of coconut cream

INSTRUCTIONS:

Whip in food processor and apply only when cake is very cool.

 

DECORATION:

Decorate with fruit, brazil nuts and shaved sugar-free chocolate.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. amandabroughton

     /  August 28, 2014

    Oh my. You are amazing this looks so delicious

    Reply

Leave a Reply

